Soggy Saturday

It rained and it rained and it rained. I felt for some of my friends who were out in this selling their awesome wares at the Queen West Arts Crawl today. I managed to stay mostly dry, and had a great day of work.

I had 2 hours to kill between dropping my son and his friend off at their Shakespeare class and I knew I’d get more knitting done if I didn’t go home, so I headed to my favourite knitting spot: The Purple Purl. Great company, and one of the women who commissioned a custom hat last weekend was there so she picked out some yarn and I will start that project up tomorrow.

Lily & Lynn's Lids felted wool dog tug toySpeaking of the Purple Purl, I’m teaching a needle felting course there this Thursday, so if you are curious about making 3 dimensional objects out of wool roving with a little barbed needle (it’s totally fun and somewhat therapeutic), give the good folks at the Purl a call at 416 463 1162.

I am going to try to make some felted dog tug toys since my BIL’s dog loves the one I gave her (see right). So this afternoon I knit a few pieces for those.

I got a good chunk of a devil hat done, and when I got home later I felted the commissioned tricorn hat. Now it’s in the blocking stage. The one where I just want to fiddle and try it on. But I won’t. Not for 2 days. Back *away* from the blocking hat…

I made a quick trip out to a local vintage shop late in the afternoon and found this old spool that will be fun for displaying my hats (when the tricorn is done I’ll post a photo). It was a total impulse buy but something about it just warmed my heart.

This evening I received an email from a lovely woman named Jing who took a few photos of me needle felting last Sunday at the Danforth East Arts Fair. I handed her a card and asked her to send them to me. Well, today she sent them… from China! How cool is that? Fun photos, too. I don’t have any other photos of me at work so I really appreciate having them.

Lynn Needle Felting at #DEAF13
Needle felting at #DEAF13. Thanks to Jing for the photograph.
Lynn needle felting a sheepy dryer ball at #DEAF13
Lynn needle felting a sheepy dryer ball at #DEAF13. Please excuse the mess behind me. That’s the part of the booth behind the table that folks can’t usually see! 🙂 Thanks to Jing for the photograph.
Leave a Reply

