One last sale before OOAK…

The Annex Flea Sunday February 9, 10am-4pm at 720 Bathurst St. just South of Bloor (Centre for Social Innovation)I couldn’t resist. Just One. Last. Sale. It’s just that it’s winter, and it’s cold, and I’ve never been to the Annex Flea before, and… and… (I have a problem, I know.)

Anyway, I’m in. Because, as they say on the Annex Flea blog: in addition to hats, “Tea cosies and tablet computer cosies will also keep you, your tea, and your technology warm in these days of polar vortexes.” (or vortices.)

I thought I might make a few more of the cute little love birds (heart clutching penguins) in case anyone wants to get their cute on:

As for the One of a Kind Show, I am in full maker mode. In fact, I have run out of my Ontario undyed yarn for the dryer balls. My order will hopefully come today.

And in exciting OOAK news, the artisan profiles are up, making it very real! I like how there are several different ways to find folks including Category (hats, for me), Company Name, Last Name, Club One (that’s the vendors who give a discount for Club One members. It won’t be updated for a while, I think), Neighbourhood (yay, Etsy!), and New to the Show.

Lynn's Lids needle felted love birds

If you want to learn to make this little penguin yourself, call The Purple Purl at 416-463-1162 and see if there’s still any room in Thursday evening’s class.

As for the One of a Kind Show, I am in full maker mode. In fact, I have run out of my Ontario undyed yarn for the dryer balls. My order will hopefully come today.

And in exciting OOAK news, the artisan profiles are up, making it very real! I like how there are several different ways to find folks including Category (hats, for me), Company Name, Last Name, Club One (that’s the vendors who give a discount for Club One members. It won’t be updated for a while, I think), Neighbourhood (yay, Etsy!), and New to the Show.

My heating registers alternate looking like this (sheepy dryer balls drying):

Lynn's Lids sheepy dryer balls drying
And this (a tea cosy drying and waiting for adornment):

Lynn's Lids tea cosy drying

A word on our household. We are all, the whole family, at home. The 2 kids are homeschooled, and my husband moved into his home office from his company’s downtown office a few years ago. Which is great. But I share an office with my husband, and the kids work on my computer, or read on the couch in the office, or on the wee table just outside the office, but when my husband has a phone or video meeting, we need to vacate. I finally found a quick and easy way of moving whatever I’m working on, which makes me happy. This basket used to sit on my desk full of various tools I frequently use. I had a big desk tidy earlier this week and it’s all much more organized now, so I can use this for quick packing. Shown below, a penguin in progress this morning, with wool roving and felting foam. Anyway, enough chit chat. Time to get back to work!

handy basket for quick packing up of current project

Leave a Reply

