Fellow Artisan: Lisa Young Design (DEAF14 & EtsyMIC)

Fellow Etsy seller Lisa Young Design will be at the Danforth East Arts Fair with me in 4 weeks from tomorrow (September 13 & 14 10am-5pm at East Lynn Park) as well as at Etsy: Made in Canada at MaRS Discovery District on September 27.

lyd4 lyd2 lyd1

Artisan Name: Lisa Young

Products: a huge variety of one of a kind jewelry pieces, from earrings to necklaces made from materials like beads, glass, natural stones, silver, pearls; hand-crafted mosaic-style belt buckles made many small treasures like pins, charms, and beads; upcycled mitts, hats and scarves made from sweaters that have been rescued from thrift stores.

Price Range: $10 to $150

About: Throughout the course of my life I have always loved making things, and I have directed that love into many different mediums over the years. When my daughter was born 20 years ago I left work in the financial industry and was looking for a creative outlet to occupy me as a new stay-at-home mom. I starting painting as a outlet to express myself and I quickly found that I loved it.

When the gallery I used to show at closed, I slowly phased into other creative outlets and initially began making jewelry out of a variety of materials. I eventually moved into the medium of silver when I discovered Art Clay, which I am now certified to teach at a basic level. I love the “one of a kind” aspect of it, and have embraced the creativity of the medium in many different ways, even combining my older passion of painting by incorporating original miniature watercolour paintings to set in the silver frames I made.

My main focus through this last year has been making accessories out of upcycled clothes and materials found at thrift shops, and giving them new life in the form mitts, scarves and hats. I am always coming up with new ideas and channelling my passion into designing fresh accessories that are fun, unique and fashionable.

By reopening my Etsy shop I have been able to expand my network and meet so many amazing artisans and try out new and different shows. I was used to just doing a school fair here and a home party there, so this summer has been spent working on finding interesting shows to be a part of, and even learning the ins and outs of social media. I am so stoked to be a part of the first Etsy Made in Canada show, as well as my first two day show as a vendor at the upcoming Danforth East Arts Fair.

One of the best feelings in the world is the happy pride I feel when someone else wearing and loving one of my pieces. I love expressing myself through my work and being able to focus on my creative side has been one of the best things in my life.

You can find Lisa Young Design online at lisayoungdesign.com, Etsy, Twitter and on Facebook.

lyd3

 

Leave a Reply

