Fellow Artisan: Embroiderwee (OOAK)

Embroiderwee was in the Etsy section this year at the spring One of a Kind Show and will be at the Christmas show as well.

  

Embroiderwee

Artisan Name: Shawne Bennett

Products: In stock and custom made to order hand embroidered hoop art along with flags, banners, buntings, pouches & push pins – all handmade!

Price Range: $10-$50

How did this all begin?
The evolution of Embroiderwee is actually quite simple – all it took was one embroidery class and I instantly fell in love. I am a creative person to the core – it never stops – ever!

About:
I am inspired by virtually everything – fashion, home décor, my love of nature , vintage, reinventing, you name it – all things colourful and beautiful. I am always following what is trending and what is up and coming and then I like to think that I put my own twist on things by envisioning it in my product line. I design, create and tweak along the way to make sure whatever is being created is something that I would actually purchase myself. Creating one of a kind keepsakes with beautiful fabrics in cotton, organics, linen and found vintage textiles is such a satisfying venture!

As a wife and a mom, I find the most challenging aspect is working from home! Now don’t get me wrong, it is amazing to go to work with messy hair and in my pj’s some days, but there is a strict discipline involved in being able to focus on work when I am at work and focus on home & family when I am with them. Some days it’s a big old bag of work, laundry, coffee, work, cleaning, answering emails, errands, post office, work …. It can be a little crazy, but I wouldn’t want it any other way 🙂

In 2014 Embroiderwee officially lived up to it’s name (wee instead of just me!) and invited Kelly to join the shop to expand our line of goods – she does all of the sewing and is incredibly talented. All of our creations are designed, sewn & embroidered from scratch. We create our own templates, source amazing fabric and have a real love for what we do which ensures that everything we bring to you is well made, unique & one of a kind!

Embroiderwee is a one of a kind shop that focuses on Kiddos • Home • Gifting using cotton, organics, linen and found vintage textiles ♥

What advice do you have for a first-time One of a Kind (OOAK) Show vendor?
STAY CALM … Sounds simple but it’s true … It is so easy to get overwhelmed with all the never ending todo lists when preparing for a show, but now we are talking the OOAK show, the BIGGEST show ever!!! I thought to myself, well I certainly have to freak out now right? No, no Shawne, you don’t … LOL! As soon as I made a conscience effort put aside the things I couldn’t control I was on my way to getting everything done on my daily todo list. Oh I worked many looooong nights but in the end it was worth it 100%.

The OOAK staff and fellow artisans are there to support you – don’t be afraid to ask questions and don’t be afraid to reach out to to help someone too!

I say all of this as I prep for the Christmas OOAK show – 11 days – not sure how I am going to get everything done, not sure how I am going to survive 11 days all by myself … I am not going to worry about it right now, because somehow it always works out in the end!

Do you have a favourite OOAK show moment/memory to share?
All the press that I received – television & print – multiple times!!! The BEST moment was watching someone walk towards my booth (I was in the Etsy section) holding a show guide up to their chest … I had to do a double take because I saw my “SMILE” embroidery hoop (available in my shop) in almost life size form ON THE BACK COVER!!! I had no idea until opening day — kinda wish I a little birdie told me because I would have created at least 100 more!

You can find Embroiderwee on Etsy, One of a Kind Online, Instagram, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

