Featured Artist: Julie Himel (DEAF)

I know Julie only via social media, so I look forward to meeting her at the Danforth East Arts Fair on September 13 & 14 (10 am – 5 pm) and seeing her lovely work in person as well.

  


Julie Himel

Products:
 oil paintings and prints

Price Range:
 $60 – $4000

How did this all begin?
I have always painted. The only time I didn’t paint was when I went to university directly out of high school and studied anthropology. That year, my creative deficit drove me to reroute and pursue a degree in Fine Art. I have had a steady art practice and have been exhibiting since.

About:
What inspires me is the people in my life, my surroundings, and music. Also, it may sound strange, but paint itself inspires me – the possibility of creating a compelling 2 dimensional image that a viewer can enter, emotionally and visually. I love the challenge of immortalizing my client’s loved ones through melding a visual likeness with the character and personality of the subject. My still life work is primarily of objects in my immediate surroundings; domestic settings of everyday things that are part of my daily rituals. I love painting objects with reflective qualities, such as glass and metal, which pick up on their surrounding environment, creating a dialogue of colour, light and space. It’s about appreciating the beauty of simple things around me, and the anthropomorphic qualities inanimate objects can carry. I listen to music compulsively through my process, a variety of genres, but all seem to influence me.

You can find Julie and her artwork at www.juliehimel.com, on Instagram, Facebook, and you can learn a bit more in a feature from the TOAE.

(All images used with permission from juliehimel.com.)

2 thoughts on “Featured Artist: Julie Himel (DEAF)

  1. Reblogged this on Julie Himel and commented:
    This was a lovely little write up on Lynn’s Lids’ Blog. Many thanks, and looking forward to meeting you at the Danforth East Arts Fair next weekend, September 13th & 14th, Booth 13.

Leave a Reply

