Fellow Artisan: IMWyred (Cabbagetown)

Irene and I met at The Purple Purl, no doubt on some knit night or other and later both started our own small businesses and have been keeping in touch and doing occasional sales together. Her new recycled glass line looks tempting… I may just have to pick up a little something from I.M.Wyred this weekend at the Cabbagetown Art & Crafts Sale!

(click below for larger images)

CopperBracelet1 DarkBlueCombo1 TurquoiseBracelet1

I. M. Wyred

Artisan Name: Irene McRae

Products: A collection of expertly knit wire bracelets, arm cuffs, necklaces and earrings in mixed metals and semi-precious stones.

Price Range: $6 to $75

How did this all begin?
I. M. Wyred jewellery line was launched in June 2011. Founded my Irene McRae, the name is a combination of her namesʼ initials and that all of designs are inspired by wire. Along with knitted jewellery, I. M. Wyred also designs an array of eco conscience necklaces and earrings using tagua seeds, acai seeds, wood and recycled newspaper.
Each piece of jewellery is made by hand locally in Toronto and made out of the finest sustain- able, non-toxic and recycled resources. The design and creation process always has the mod- ern women in mind, creating contemporary pieces which are versatile, light and fun with an eco twist.

About:
I have been knitting since the age of seven but lost the love of it until I had kids. Three lovely girls, Audrey, Piper and Ginger. I made everything under the sun for them with yarn from dresses, sweaters and skirts to many of stuff animals. I just love to knit and making things and teaching them to knit was a great joy. But a few years ago, I discovered knitting with wire and I occasionally go back but I am just hooked on wire. Different gauges, colours, adding stones and crystals, I love it all.

My goal for I. M. Wyred is to move from a part time business to full time. I enjoy creating jewellery and I love forward to sharing my passion with others.

I. M. Wyred currently sells online on Etsy and can be found on Twitter @immcraeFacebook, and her blog.

EcoNecklace_PinkOrangeBeige2

(All images used with permission.)

Leave a Reply

