Fellow Artisan: The Vexed Muddler (EtsyMIC)

Peggy and I met through Etsy and Twitter and the Toronto Etsy Street Team long before we met in person. She is the wonderful creative talent behind the custom butterfly necklace I got for my mom in my dad’s memory. It is a cherished gift. She is also the maker of the beautiful buttons that adorn several of my hats. The Vexed Muddler will be selling her awesome work at the upcoming Etsy: Made in Canada market at the MaRS Discovery District on Saturday, September 27 from 10am-4pm.

(Click to view Etsy listings and larger images)

  

The Vexed Muddler

Artisan Name: I go by Peggy Muddles, but like all superheroes, I also have a secret identity as a semi-mad scientist.

Products: I make ceramic jewellery and buttons with biological themes, all crafted using my own hand-carved stamps.

Price Range: Individual pieces range from $20 to $40 for jewellery. My buttons are typically between $2.50 and $9.00 each.

How did this all begin?
I had been exploring biological themes in functional ceramic pieces for a few years when my mom, a professional quilter, asked me to craft some buttons for a project she was working on. In the process, I made a few necklaces for myself and some friends. Once a few friends and coworkers found out what I was doing, things sort of snowballed 🙂

About:
Two of my great loves are biology and working with my hands. I’m enthralled by the natural world, by evolution, and the many remarkable forms life takes. By day I study the microscopic worlds around and within us, and my art helps me to communicate the joy and wonder of that realm. I also love talking to people about science, and have discovered that in wearing and selling my science-inspired pieces, I have so many excellent opportunities to talk people’s ears off about biology!

Find me on Twitter @tehpet, Tumblr, and of course Etsy. I also have a website which may someday become a blog again at giroofasaurus-vexed.com.

(All images used with permission.)

Leave a Reply

