Fellow Artisan: Avantgarde Studio (EtsyMIC)

Elena will be at the Etsy: Made in Canada flagship pop-up market at the MaRS Atrium. It’s going to be a good one, folks. Get yourselves downtown (College & University) on Saturday, September 27 for over 100 Etsy vendors and get your holiday shopping done early, or just treat yourself to something nice, handmade here in Toronto.

Avantgarde Studio

Products: Children’s clothing

Price Range: 
$20-60

How did this all begin?
It came as a surprise to myself! I had an idea for a little project for my baby girl’s room. It was to make a storage bench with a colorful cushion on top. My husband was to put together the bench and I was looking for a tailor to do the cushion for me. The local tailor told me to buy all the materials and they’ll do it for $100. I thought I’d rather try it by myself. The online tutorials helped a lot and I loved the finished cushion bench. Then I did a dress.

About:
My little Emma inspires me to create the dresses for little girls. Every time I go shopping for her I am overwhelmed with all the pink clothes. Too much princess looking dresses. Too much hello kitty prints. I’m looking for something different, something with a clean look.

Sewing up these little outfits is fun and I can’t wait to see how they fit. There’s one part of the process that I really hate – turning garments inside out through a 1 inch hole!

Find Avantgarde Studio on EtsyFacebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

(All images used with permission.)

Leave a Reply

