Fellow Artisan: Mary Mondoux (Artisan Social)

New to the Artisan Social this year is photographer and greeting card artist Mary Mondoux. Come check out her work on December 7 from 1pm to 5pm through the red gate behind the Ceili Cottage!

Mary Mondoux 1 Mary Mondoux 3 Mary Mondoux 4

Mary Mondoux

I’ve been making photo greeting cards and photographic images on wooden blocks.

On my 8th birthday my parents gave me a Brownie camera. Thus began my love of photography. I surprised myself when I realized that I loved taking photographs that had an almost architectural feel. I just love to walk the streets snapping photos of streetscapes, graffiti and odd shapes.

I’ve been making greeting cards for friends and relatives for the past few years. Quite a number have requested sets of cards for their personal use.

Recently while in a local camera store I noticed that one of the options for printing photos was in a 4×4 format. I did a few as samples and thought they would look lovely on small wooden blocks. I purchased a few as trials and was pleased with the results. I have a new outlet now for my photos.

My mantra is -“Art is everywhere, you just need to stop and look”

I am setting up my own webpage, currently I have a page on facebook highlighting my photography and abstract paintings: Yes It’s Mary.

All images used with permission.

Leave a Reply

