New products in the works

This week I’m happy to:

  • have finished my major applications for fall shows
  • get products ready for 2 shops (more on that another day)
  • be working on a couple of new products for the online shops (lynnslids.com and lynnslids.etsy.com) and for fall shows.
  • see & feel sun shining and it is ABOVE ZERO CELSIUS!!!!

Several people have asked me at shows whether I do headbands/ear warmers. I don’t wear them so I’ve shied away from making one. I don’t know what finally nudged me to give it a try (probably just the urge to try something new) but I made an attempt around Christmas time, after the custom orders had died down. It didn’t work, but I knew what I had to do to fix it, so I gave it another try a few weeks ago with success:

Lynn's Lids hand knit, felted wool ear warmer headband with flower in peacock

The photo was well received, and last month at the Leslieville Flea I actually asked someone (she was wearing a headband) who was looking at my stuff if she could do me a favour and try it on and give me any feedback. She said she liked the wide band at the front and assured me that it covered her ears and was comfortable.

Then last week the boys and I were going for a walk with a friend who wears headbands so I brought it along to wear myself and let her test it out and provide feedback. Well, she put it on and wouldn’t take it off… Sold! So I guess that’s pretty good feedback.

I have just knit up and felted a 2nd one (it’s blocking) in purple heather and I plan to make a bunch for fall sales, but I will be sure to post a couple in each of the online shops prior to that.

The other new product I’m working on is one I’ve now had three custom requests for, so I figure it’s time to start making them. The French press coffee cosy! Here’s the first one I made for a friend who lived in Toronto for several years and is now back home in Denmark:

Lynn's Lids hand knit, felted wool French press coffee cosy with Toronto skyline

 

I’m in the process of making 2 more for the other custom orders. One’s just been felted, and the other is being knit up (see below – love that green!). Once they are finished I’ll post photos on my instagram/twitter/facebook/pinterest/google+ and then make one or two for each of the online shops.

Good day for a walk & #knit in the #Beach! #sun #Toronto

A post shared by Lynn W, Amherst Is. ON Canada (@lynnslids) on

Happy sunny not freezing day, folks!

Leave a Reply

