Fellow Artisan: queenie’s cards

I don’t have any upcoming shows until fall (I don’t like trying to sell wool stuff in summertime) but I didn’t think that should stop me from doing a fellow artisan post, so here is Queenie Best, of queenie’s cards, whom I met at the 2013 Danforth East Arts Fair when she came by with her daughter and picked up some dryer balls. We have kept in contact, doing some of the same shows and more recently I introduced Queenie and a friend of hers to needle felting. Queenie’s work is full of humour and pun, brightness and charm.

(click on images to see large versions)

queeniescards_photo_tote bag_happy mail_product1 queeniescards_photo_buttons_magnets_asst_product_1_large queeniescards_photo_print toronto1 cn tower skydome_product_2

queenie’s cards

Products:  Greeting Cards, Art Prints, Notebooks, Pinback Buttons, Magnets, Keychains, Tote Bags (more to come!)

Price Range: $3.00-$20.00

How did this all begin?
I unofficially launched queenie’s cards in 2008, but it wasn’t until I was on my mat leave in 2012 that I realized it was my true passion and I wanted to make it a full-time business. I quit my 6-year long position as a graphic designer/photographer at a children’s toy company and queenie’s cards became official in January 2014.

What inspires new products?
Puns!

What’s the most challenging part of your work?
Not having enough time in a day to go through my to do list

What’s the most fun part of your work?
Compliments from customers 🙂

What are your best hours (when you are most attentive, most focussed, most creative, work the best) in the day? Do you work during those?
My work hours are when my daughter is in preschool. From 8am to 3pm is when I’m the most productive because I get the house to myself, which is where my office is based. However, I’m the most creative at night when I’m supposed to be sleeping.

Tell us a little about your creative process.
When an idea hits me, I write it down right away so I don’t forget. My designs are inspired randomly, there’s no process, really – it just happens!

What do you do when you’re not creating?
Running, rock climbing, playing with my daughter, walking the dog, brushing the cats, reading or eating ice cream.

What do you wish you knew when you got started?
File every single document neatly and in an organized folder! Also, trust your gut.

What’s the best art show tip you’ve received?
“Don’t forget to eat.”

Queenie’s website is at queeniescards.com and queenie’s cards can also be found on Etsy, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest.

queeniescards_photo_greeting card_avocuddle_product_1
 All photos used with permission. 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Fellow Artisan: queenie’s cards

Leave a Reply

