Fellow artisan: Heart’s Haven

Katie of Heart’s Haven will be joining me (and many, many others!) at 2 upcoming sales: Danforth East Arts Fair at East Lynn Park (just west of Woodbine on the south side of Danforth Ave) on Saturday, September 19 and Sunday, September 20 from 10am-5pm and at the Etsy: Made in Canada Day at MaRS Discovery District (University & College) on Saturday, September 26 from 10am – 6pm.

(click on images to see larger versions on flickr)

18331447874_5bfabfb52a_m 18954201145_6c7dbffae0_m 18957142071_c319ec4f77_m

Heart’s Haven

Products: upcycled scarves & cowls, infinity scarves, hand screen printed tote bags, driftwood brooches, embroidered notebooks, coffee cozies

Price Range: $5-$50

How did this all begin?
Great question! Probably as a young child watching my mom sew clothes and quilts. I used to sit on her studio floor and sew buttons onto fabric. I’ve always loved textiles arts, and spent years knitting and sewing for myself and friends. I frequented many craft shows and always wanted to be a part of the Toronto crafting community. It was just a route I needed to take!

What inspires new products?
Anything & everything! I’m inspired by a wide range of things; life experiences, emotions, wildlife, as well as purely visual & tactile stimulation. One of my favourite things is walking through yarn or fabric shops. My most recent collection, “Wanderlust,” is inspired by recent travel experiences to South East Asia & New Zealand.

What makes your work unique and truly your own?
I like to think that my work really encompasses my own personal narrative; that every piece tells a bit of my story.

What’s the most challenging part of your work?
Finding time to immerse myself in it!

What’s the most fun part of your work?
So many aspects are both fun and fulfilling. I love the initial struggle of working out a design and fine tuning my ideas. I love stepping back from a finished piece and feeling proud of what I’ve created. I also love interacting with shoppers & fellow artisans at craft shows; I love being a part of that community and hearing feedback from people about my work.

What do you do when you’re not creating?
I work at a veterinary clinic, spend time with my animals, try to enjoy the great outdoors when I can, and love to immerse myself in a wonderful novel.

What advice do you have for artisans just getting started?
Just do it! Seriously, just get yourself out there. And have fun with it! Make the art/craft you want to make, apply for the shows you want to be in, and interact with your community.

You can find Heart’s Haven on Etsy and on Twitter @yourheartshaven, and do come see her in person at these two fantastic events in the coming weeks!

18927861196_6b4c4839ee_z

(All photos used with permission)

Leave a Reply

